WITH 9,309 REVIEWS
To view local phone numbers
Read what people are saying
Precision Garage Door of Atlanta
about Precision Garage Door
has received 53 reviews, averaging 1.00 Stars:
- Michael Brooks
Installers: Rick Dowdin
Technician: Joe 3 Simon Work Order#: 4748202 Invoice # O3282220 We just had a visit from a Precision Door technician to give us an estimate for the repair of our 2-car garage door. The price of $2,000.00 seemed unreasonable to us, so we told him that we needed to keep shopping for a better price. The technician had an attitude and charged us $59.00 for the road trip. We gave him a check. After researching other 5-star rated companies, we found that none of them would charge us for the road trip, or the estimate. We would rather do business with any of those reputable companies. Our check should be returned to us and no charges for the road trip should apply. Thanks!
- Suwanee Home Owner
Buyer Beware: I assumed this was a reputable company based on their BBB rating, but turned out to be no better than a crooked mechanic who knows they have you under their finger once they are there and massively overcharges you for their service. I called and asked how much it would cost to replace the broken springs on my garage door. I was told on the phone that it would cost probably between 80 to 180 dollars depending on the springs. I was well, yes I could do it much cheaper myself, but I would have to wait to order the springs and my car was trapped in the garage unti it was changed, so I figured the price was reasonable enough and told them to go ahead and come out. Once he arrived, the sales job began due to him knowing he had us stuck to a service call charge if we said no. He started calling out all the other things that he thought should be changed on the door besides just the springs. Which was basically everything. The end bearings, the rollers and if you get the max package we can put "special" springs and rollers in but that will be 200 dollar more. I was told that to do the basics was 620 dollars before tax. The high pressure sale was on, I was between a rock and a hard place, now I knew this was way over priced, but I had no choice but to agree to it. He finished the job in less than two hours. I priced the parts he used out online and for the two springs, the end barings and the rollers, the cost of parts to me, which I'm sure they get cheaper was just over 100 dollars. That means they charged me over 500 dollars in labor, over 250 dollars an hour to complete this job. They didn't even break out parts and labor on their invoice they gave me to hide how much the labor was. An incredible rip off. I honestly don't know how a business that is an unethical as this gets the ratings you get, but you screwed the crap out of me on your labor costs becuase you knew you could and you should be ashamed of yourself. Honesty and ethics is something that goes a long way in this world and unfortunately Precision Door service cares more about making money than being fair and honest. If I were you, I would keep an eye out for Mrs. Karma, becuase she can be a real bitch! Don't make the mistake to believe the person on the phone and have them come out unless money isn't an issue for you, because you will pay "way" more than you should have to with this company. Buyer Beware!!!!
- Gary Foote
I give Precision Door a 5 star. Joshua Kesler was my technician and he was able to change my keypad as well as replace my remote. I am able to use my garage door to the fullest.
- Gerome Garth
I was disappointed that i was charged for tightening the spring when we just replaced the whole thing and the lifter less than 6 month paying over $1200. I would have thought it would last at least 1 year and least gave us a warranty for 1 year. So i was very disappointed that i needed to pay to get it tightened when it was not even 6 months old.
- Helen M
Technicians: Dustin Bourchier
Don’t trust these guys!!! Called them out to do a tune up on my garage door opener for $89 that included new rollers. Upon “inspection” I basically needed a whole new door for over $1000. Claimed they couldn’t do the tune for $89 so they charged me $59 and did nothing. Save your money!! Don’t trust these people!!!
- David Kellam
Quote me $80 to $125 and I ended up paying over $300 for the exact same thing you quoted me for. Door shakes and makes a horrible noise now.
- Havi N/a
Technicians: David Sweeney
I spent $2100 with your company two days ago. More specifically, I spent $1200 on two Liftmaster 8550s with installation in my garage ($600 each). I also spent an additional $900 on various fixes that I was told that I needed in my garage. I found the exact same Liftmaster 8550 service with installation for $384 each. I was told that your price was the best around town. I am requesting your price match guarantee as you have advertised on your website. I feel like I have been completely taken advantage of because I was overcharged $416 between the two garage door openers. Now, that I found that huge price discrepancy, I’m also wondering if I actually needed those additional $900 in fixes or if I was taken advantage of in that regard also. I am so upset about this situation. Please contact me as soon as possible.
- Santosh Gauthaman
I am sorry for the delay in responding to you. Please accept my apologizes. Your invoice clearly states that you were charged $550 per operator, not $600. We emailed you a copy of the invoice. Our price match we offer on the website is for a written quotation from a competitor for like product, and presented at time of service. What you provided after the work was completed was first an Amazon coupon for only part of the opener in question. (it did not include a rail or a battery), and then a coupon for a discount off of a price. When we called the company on the coupon, we were told the best price they offered for this product with the coupon is $525. After pushing them, we did get them down to $500 each. Again, this is for a promotion they are currently running. As a measure of good faith, we have refunded your card today and matched the $500 price AFTER THE FACT. We strive to give total customer satisfaction when possible, based on fairness and equity, which we believe is demonstrated by over 5000 reviews across many different review platforms.with a 4.8 star average It is my opinion we do deserve a one star review for not getting back to you in a timely fashion which I assure you has been dealt with internally, but certainly not for our pricing or the technicians service.
Door Estimator: Michael Otteson
Shaun a technician explained that our garage door opener was very old and the transmission inside the box was the problem. He said they didn't make them any longer so the choice was to replace it for $400. Then he remembered he might have one in his truck. This could save us because it was only $200. but only if he had this part that was not manufactured anymore for years. Lo and behold he had the part. He was able to quote instantly any part needed. amazing!!! He replaced the part and a few other items and left. A very friendly fellow. After he left my wife brought over the part he replaced 'the transmission' in a plastic bag. Since I am trusting and the reviews are so strong I just said ok. But my wife found the part, it is called a socket type for 19$ online. WOW! We trustingly let this company basically con us. I wonder how many times this has occurred to others who gave good reviews only to be cheated. Two calls to management have gone unanswered.
- Tony E.
Senior Technicians: Shaun Sewell
I had a very horrible experience from Precision. The technician was nice and professional and attempted to help me but when he called in to his office they were not very customer service friendly at all. I purchased a brand new garage door with all the accessories from your company on March 2014 and the spring has already broken. The tech said it will cost me $358, I told him my budget was $150 and that was when he called the office and they said said, no. First of all I did my research and found out that many roll up garage doors in residential use go 30 years or more on original springs. When we bought the house in 2013 it was the original garage door and springs and the house was over 10 years old.If we new this was going to happen, we would have left it without changing the whole garage door and spring. The reason we changed was because the door was old and dirty but the spring was still good. So we bought brand new garage door, opener, springs and everything you need for a whole and now here we are , four years into the install and the spring is broken already. Back in 2014 , two weeks after the install, there was a problem with the wiring so, they had to come out to fix that. I did another research and found out that most garage door companies use just the standard spring on new garage doors, that gives you between 10,000 to 15,000 cycle springs. So to determine my springs cycle life, our garage door is used four times (4 cycles) per day multiplied by 365 equals 1460. Annual average is 1460 divided by 10,000 equals 6.84 years (10,000 cycle springs)Or 1460 divided by 15,000 equals 10.26 years (15,000 cycle springs). So either way our spring was defective since if our spring is a 10,000 cycle we should have gotten at least 7 years or 10 years for 15,000 cycle and we are just in the fourth year. I was even content in paying $150 to replace the defective springs but after my research ,I don't think we should pay anything at all and they should be replaced at no cost to us, since they did not live up to its intended life span. After the tech, left I called the office and spoke to the receptionist and explained our matter and I was told there was no managers available to speak with me till tomorrow. How funny that is, since four years ago when you were ready to take our money, the sales rep was able to get a manger on the phone after 5:00 pm when it came to sales, but all of a sudden, no manager was available today to do the right thing and take care of this situation. Oh by the way I still had to pay $59.99 for the service fee, and nothing was done, so again you take our money and we are still left with a non -operable garage door. I am only giving a one star because the tech (Chris White) was a true professional and gentleman. If it wasn't for him I will not be giving any stars based on the overall treatment of our issue and experience we had today. I truly hope the owner does read this and decides to do something to help solve this problem. Chris White will be able to attest to everything that I am saying.
- Joseph Clottey
I called the office today to get my issue resolved and I was told a manager was going to call me back today and he did. The manager's name is Sean or Shawn, he listened to my problem and immediately without hesitation agree to my $150 budget I had to fix the broken garage. Within 45 minutes another technician by the name of David Sweeney was at our house and came in changed our broken springs with brand new one. he told us these springs were 20,000 cycle springs it looks like our old springs were 5000 cycle springs. I want to say after speaking with the service manager, Sean or Shawn things got better and I am grateful that precision has someone like him on board. If you have any issues, he is your go to guy to solve any issues. The tech, David Sweeney today was also very nice, courteous and professional. I would say that today's experience and services earns Precision doors 4 out of 5 stars.A Response from: Tim
Thank you for sharing your entire experience-it is always our intention to leave customers feeling good for having done business with Precision. While a negative experience doesn't happen very often, we always make it a priority that any issues customers have be addressed quickly and appropriately. Thank you again!
Technicians: David Sweeney
Not only am I dissatisfied with the repair service I received from Precision Door, I’m extremely dissatisfied with their lack of response to my concerns. When I called to complain, the same tech who serviced my door called me back. When I asked for his managers phone number he refused to give it to me but said he would have him call me back, but he never did. I then sent an email to the person who mailed me my invoice and they never replied. I then sent email to their main email address but still never received a reply. Now, I will take my complaint to the Better Business Bureau.
- Jack Kanis
Office was able to schedule visit next day. Chase called 25 mins before arriving within the promised time window. Repair options were discussed and work performed quickly once we had an action plan. Door is good as new:)
- Suzanne Gaensbauer
That's great - thank you for taking time to share your experience.
Thanks so much for your technicians like Chase Dasilva. Very pleasant, courteous, knowledgable and professional. Got my garage door working again in a very few minutes.
- Betty Smith
Requested the doors be quieted down. There are 3 smaller doors. Was quoted over $500 for the service. Tech said the coupon we had was only good for one door. Called and found that not to be true. My wif was placed in an awkward position by your tech. To make matters worse my door I use everyday is still loud. I do not recommend your place unfortunately....
- Robert & Lori Dees
We're sorry your doors are still loud. I went over the invoice and found that he did indeed honor the Angies List price for all 3 doors. We would be more than willing to come back out and determine why it is that your doors are still loud. Changing out the rollers may not have been your only issue. Please call at your earliest convenience and we will be more than happy to return. Thanks!
No one from your business has contacted me to correct the fact that you did not provide the total service we paid for. Again, our purchase through Angie's list included a tune up and roller replacement and our roller was NOT replaced during the service call. Your technician was very professional and courteous but we have no plans to ever use your company again unless you remedy your oversight.
- Betsy Imes
We are sorry for the confusion on your Angie's List Coupon. I have tried to reach out to you to resolve this and couldn't reach you. Please feel free to call so that we can go back out to your property and install new rollers.
This is the worst company ever. I will never use this company again. I have had the repairman out two different times to fix the gap between the rubber and cement flooring. The last repairman walked into the garage and immediately said there was nothing that he can do and referred me to Home Depot. After he left, I took facial tissue and resolve the issue with the rubber. It needed some type of foam to prevent the gap. I called him back and told him. He came back 30 minutes later to add foam. I paid almost $500.00 and received horrible service.
- Tina Oglesby
I'm pleased that we could resolve the issue and make you happy. Pleas feel free to call if you need any other service in the future.
Quick service - works well. Deceptive pricing. Will not use again. Felt trapped into using them.
- Charles Brown
We are very sorry you did not have a good experience. I took the liberty of listening to the taped call when you scheduled the appointment and heard the representative state that the spring prices range from $88-179 per spring. You were given a price of $139.50 per spring. For that particular spring, the normal price would have been $179.00 which is a savings of $39.50 per spring, there were 2. It is always been our practice to give our customers options when repair work is needed which includes to do nothing at all. It appears you chose the repair option. If you have any more questions or concerns in regard to the repairs, please feel free to call our office.
It took less than 5 minutes to do the repair to a bent latch during a visit to price a garage door opener. I was charged $60, which seemed excessive for the time and the small latch. Also, price quote for opener was $350 higher than that of home depot , so I do not plan to use them
- Jan Comara
It is our practice to always present our customers with a written proposal of any repairs prior to any work being done. We are assuming that you were aware of the price before agreeing to have the work completed. After reviewing your invoice, I see that a lock assembly was installed. It appears the technician charge you minimum pricing on that particular part as well as waived the service fee which was a $59.00 value. As far as pricing on openers, the opener you were quoted was a Liftmaster Jackshaft opener which is not available at any big box store. The opener you are referring to at Home Depot did not include installation which is typically $129.00 and up. Also the Liftmaster brand carries a much better warranty and constructed to give a much longer life. I'm sorry that you did not have a good experience with us but we feel our price was competitive and justified.
Ordered new garage doors on Wednesday and was told that Tim would call me today to schedule installation, but I did not get a call. Not off to a great start.
- Rita Mix
We are sorry for the for the miscommunication in getting your doors scheduled as the office was closed the Friday after Thanksgiving. Hopefully, from this point forward we can do everything in our power to earn a 5 star worthy review from you once your garage doors are installed. We are very sorry for any misunderstanding, and appreciate your feedback.
Dear Owner Tim - Thanks for your rapid response note on the service performed at my home this morning! I tried reaching you, specifically, per your request below and got Kristi???, I recall. "Please feel free to comment on the quality of our technicians, and your overall experience. If for any reason you are not totally satisfied, I would consider it a favor if you called and gave me the opportunity to redress the situation. Best Wishes, Tim 1(888) 708-5665" Here's giving you an opportunity as you have requested to make good before I sound the alarms, loudly, to all parties, including the BBB. As an FYI, I am a former Board member in my community, and a real estate sales person, and I am continually asked for referrals - I'd like to include you but........ The good side is; your technician Mark Mosely is a tremendous asset to your organization; professional, skilled, personable, likeable, efficient and every other good attribute that a service expert should have! That being said, I am aware that corporate sets price structure, and not the service techs! The bad side is; I paid $500 for the identical garage door closure spring conversion service that could have been performed by All Four Seasons Garage Doors (770-971-6405) for $285. You are welcome to confirm that figure with them - I spoke with two different reps that quoted me the same number. This is a huge difference, and is representative of most of an airfare for me to be able to visit my kids. Rather than go with the recommendations of the Ebsco Home Reports Guide on the selection of a vendor, of which All Four is listed, I opted to go with the referral of a neighbor - shame on me! Ergo, I expect to see that $215 differential credited to my account which you have. Would you kindly address ASAP; a bad recommendation is something none of us want! As I did pay my invoice via American Express, I have so advised them that Precision's charge is in contention! I thank you personally for your attention to this matter. Professionally yours, Hank Aldort 770-312-4333
- Hank Aldort
Thank you for the review. The comparison of our parts vs those of our competitors is not an accurate picture of the work performed or parts provided, We use ONLY high cycle, heavy duty parts which give much longer life. I can also assure you we are approached regularly by companies wanting us to be listed in their books as a recommended service FOR A FEE Our over 2300 reviews on our website and over 400 on Angies List are genuine reviews from people like you, not that have been purchased. I am not aware of the guide you refer to, so I am not in a position to speak of the recommended vendors or why they are in the book. We work diligently to provide the highest service level using the highest quality parts available, and yes we are not the cheapest, nor do we try to be. We believe in presenting our parts and service levels to our customers, educating them on the merits, and leaving the decision totally in their hands. A fair price for services performed, and we believe we deliver that. Having said all this, I hope this addresses your issues. and I understand that this matter has been resolved to both our satisfactions Regards Tim Yeager Owner
Unfortunately the technician gave me no confidence in the company. He was great at keeping informed as to his arrival for an estimate but once arriving at the house spent less than 5 minutes reviewing the job, brought no samples of products for me to look at, did not give me warranty information or any positive company info and did not tell me that they would only install a door, I had to find someone to frame in. I had to call back to get a quote and to find out about what work they could not do. Disappointed. He knew before coming out to the house what I wanted done, he should have been upfront and not waste my time.
- Mary Alice Bancroft
I am so sorry for the bad experience you had with our company. Upon further investigation, it appears we did not realize at the time of booking your appointment you were looking for someone to act as a general contractor to frame in a carport and install a garage door. We are not licensed or insured as a general contractor in Georgia. Our insurance is very specific to the installation and repair of commercial and residential garage doors, which we do VERY WELL. Many times, customers request work that requires load calculations for the installation of a larger door, or even in the case of a carport, the design of a header and support framing which requires engineering calculations for such a large opening and a roof above it. I am sorry for whatever reason this was not discovered while booking your call. We did have a technician come to your home instead of myself or one of our garage door design people. We ALWAYS carry several different panels for the customer to visually examine, or, if we determine a different panel design is wanted, we will return and drop the correct panel off at a later time. We did make a mistake on booking the call on a technician. When we corresponded via email, I did offer to try to rectify the situation with a heavily discounted door for your obvious frustration, but you had found another company to install your door. I will use this experience as a learning tool with our staff to hopefully prevent this situation from arising again. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention Tim Yeager Owner
First the positive. When the service technician said they would arrive at my house, they did it on time and i was called to advise he was on his way. The negative, I was quoted $620 to replace the springs for my garage door. That was outlandish! I replaced it for less than $300 and everyone else I called after the Precision visit was around that price range. I felt I was quoted such a high price because I live in a nice neighborhood. When I chose not to have the work done, the tech attempted to charge a $50 service fee, but I was told on the phone no service fee would apply. Technician did provide an estimate, an did not charge me a service after all. Pricing needs to be fair. i would not recommend Precision to anyone.
- Arnaldo Ruiz
Mr. Ruiz: I did a complete investigation into your review upon receipt. Our technician advised you that the existing spring system on your door was a very low quality system utilizing plastic drums and springs less than an inch in diameter. He "recommended" an upgrade to your door of a new torsion system utilizing large diameter HIGH CYCLE springs along with metal drums and cables, bearings, and a torsion tube. It is unfair to call our price outlandish when you are comparing a set of springs to a complete torsion rebuild, as was stated on the estimate our technician left you. It is not unusual for the same springs you have on your door to need replaced every couple of years depending on the usage of your door. Our torsion system would have given you a minimum of 4x the life of what your system would have. I believe our system was a far superior "fix" to your problem. We choose not to replace the system your door had on it with a like system because it is a warranty/safety implications to my company and employees. It appears our technician did a poor job explaining to you the difference between the two systems or at the minimum what components were being replaced. I will definitely use your experience as a teaching aid with my employees to try and prevent a similar experience from happening in the future! Tim Yeager Owner
A total waste of time. They kept delaying appointments . The women scheduler was EXTREMELY rude and seemed annoyed with my questions. They quoted me a inflated price for the work saying I needed a whole assembly when all I needed was a belt- which I found online for a quarter of the price. I have spread the word to many friends and family to STAY AWAY from Precision. You are better off with ANYONE else. STAY AWAY FROM THIS CLIP JOINT!!!!!!!! NO STARS NO STARS
- Chris Wild
Mr. Wild I am confused by your review and feel you gave this review to the wrong company. Our records show (recorded for both of our protection) that you booked your call on October 3 requesting October 5th appointment. You were never moved, cancelled, or otherwise inconvenienced. Our technician was on time which was verified by the gps tracker in his truck. When you called our office you stated a gentleman named xxxxxx gave you a price of $129 to replace the belt on your unit. We have never had anyone by that name work for us. Our staff quickly informed you that was not one of our prices that was quoted. We strive to give excellent service and fair market prices. Our staff is covered by a very large general liability policy and workman's compensation. Some of the "tailgaters" in a pick up truck have neither. Regardless, by separate email I have provided you my cell phone number to call me directly to discuss this matter. Again, when we make a mistake, which will happen, I will go above and beyond to make it right for our customer. I hope when you are spreading the news to your friends that it is about the right company. As you can see, EVERY REVIEW gets posted to our website.
Office: (678) 395-4624
6550 McDonough Dr
Norcross, GA 30093
Office: (678) 771-5973
6835 Shiloh Rd E
Alpharetta, GA 30005
Office: (678) 250-4044
189 Cobb Parkway N
Marietta, GA 30062
Office: (770) 460-5111
137 Bethea Road
Fayetteville, GA 30214
Office: (678) 802-8110
5152 Belle Wood Ct
Buford, GA 30518
Office: (706) 509-2967
4390 Atlanta Hwy
Bogart, GA 30622
Office: (770) 246-2786
135 McDonough Pkwy
McDonough, GA 30253