WITH 9,802 REVIEWS
To view local phone numbers
Read what people are saying
Precision Garage Door of Atlanta
about Precision Garage Door
has received 31 reviews, averaging 2.00 Stars:
Just spoke to my neighbor as he replaced both tension bars for less than the one I just replaced. Went over and it was basically the exact same thing. In other words I should had waited and research it better instead of jumping in. Thank you you got me.
- Rudy Marchi
Thank you for sharing your experience. We had our service manager reach out to you and he said you were happy with the work that was done! Please let us know if there is anything else you need! We appreciate you!
Service Technicians: Dustin Bourchier
POSITIVE ASPECTS: 1. Got connected with Prevision customer service immediately on phone & got appointment for next day 2. Technician (David Sweeney) visited within the given time bracket 3. Technician was knowledgeable & did a professional job within 45 minutes. NEGATIVE ASPECTS: 1. Technician didn’t know that my garage has warranty for parts for 7 years. This should have been in their system. I was lucky to find Precision 2018 (5 years old) invoice & show him that I have warranty for 7 years for parts & 2 year for labour. 2. Excessive cost of labour was charged - $591 ($738 - $99 for End Bearing Plates which I decided to change because of technician recommendation - $48 for taxes as told to me). 3. Was told Springs are free (as covered under warranty) & all is labour charges. However, the invoice include cost of two springs ($427). Was also charged for Maintenance ($89) & Tune up separately ($129). 4. Invoice correct total is $690, however, technician wrote $738 as Invoice total & charged me $738. 5. I was verbally told that $738 include tax, whereas the invoice show zero sales tax. Included in invoice total is a charge for F/S/E/D of $48.3. DETAILS: David Sweeney visited from Precision garage door. He did a nice job & did it smoothly & professionally all within 45 minutes. After assessing the problem (a spring got broken) he gave me two estimates for the work (depending on the extent of parts I want to change) - $588 & $810 (2 springs + 2 End bearing plates). However, when I told him that I had warranty for 10 years, he asked me if I had the original 2018 invoice. I luckily found it & showed him. He then deducted the cost of parts from the estimates & brought it down to 508 & 690 (from 588 & 810) respectively. When I asked why he reduced it by only $80, he said that the rest is all labor cost (for 588 estimate). The $690 estimate include two End bearing plates of $49 each). When I asked him why labor is so high, he responded that’s it’s a tough job. I chose his recommended estimate of $690 (which included 2 End bearing plates of $49 each) & ended up paying $738 (including taxes as per him - but not as per Invoice). I didn’t want to spend more time to shop around as one of my car was stuck inside the garage. Hence got it done & paid the exorbitant price!! The invoice I received in email show $378 for two springs, $49 for spring bracket, $98 for two End plate Bearing Plates, Tune up ($129), Maintenance ($89), F/S/E/D ($48.3), and customer discount of -53 which brings total to $690. After reflecting on it later, I realised that it was way expensive - an extremely exorbitant labour charges!! I should have talked with their supervisor or shopped around with other companies. My garage was installed in April 2018. I was under the impression that warranty last for 10 years based on my discussion at the time of installation. However, when I checked the old invoice today, we found in it warranty coverage for 7 years parts & 3 years labor. Of $738 invoice I paid today, I was given cost waiver of only $80 for the parts whereas 591 was for labor!! The exorbitant labor charges is very painful & depicts the worthlessness of the warranty you get on garage installation from Precision. The work today done is again covered for 5 years parts & 1 year labor - and as it got evident today……the parts coverage is worthless as almost 86% (591/690) of the cost is for labor on service/repairs!! I recommend that for repairs we all should shop around & get the best company who can get it done at a normal labor price. I didn’t check Google earlier, but it seems there are a few other companies with equal or higher ratings than Precision. Note: I don’t usually write Reviews but very rarely - only if it’s a great job done or I need to caution other customers & bring it to the knowledge of the owners of companies.
- Sal Khan
Thank you for reaching out to us and voicing your concerns with your service! We have alerted proper management and a refund for the parts is in the process because you are covered under the warranty from the door install from 2018 with upgraded parts! We appreciate you for letting us know about this concern and we are communicating with all teams to ensure future improvement! Please give us a call if this is not rectified and we will do what we can to ensure you're satisfied! We value you as a customer and we appreciate you for trusting us with all your garage door needs!
Service Technicians: David Sweeney
On September 22,2022 Precision Overhead Garage Door Service install two new garage door openers. The installation was excellent and the service technician was professional. My only problem was I received only one opener for each door. For the price of the installation was nearly $1600.00 dollars. In the past when I purchased new garage doors openers from Home Depot and Lowes I received two instead of one and the price was cheaper. Is there any way I can receive two garage openers for both doors. I would appreciate it. Thank you Darnell Nolin.
- Darnell Nolin
Service Technicians: Anthony Watts
I will never recommend this company. They charge a ridiculous amount of money. I called to get my door put back on track. It ended up costing me $ 3200.00 61/2 hours of work. Started out going to cost $1700 to fix a few things then all the sudden oh you we’d a new motor too jump the price all the way to $3200. Merry Christmas to them. STC
- Denise Guy
I won’t be calling Precision again. All I really needed was torsion spring and lift cable replacement. For less than $120 I could have gone to Home Depot for parts and DIYed it. But I didn’t feel like bothering and the numbers Precision quoted me over the phone seemed reasonable. David, the technician who arrived, was good. He was punctual, personal, professional and knew his business. After he had dismantled the lift system and parts were on the floor, he presented me with a Good/Better/Best package proposal to refurbish the door. “Best” cost more than I remember paying for the entire door. The “Good” option was hardly a good value even assuming the use of ultra-premium parts. By my calculation, labor came in at easily over $500/hr. I’m satisfied with the work but not at all with the value. Precision, the “Overhead Garage Door Service,” apparently has an awful lot of overhead to cover.
- John Boehnke
Mr. Boehnke, we pride ourselves on customer service and want to turn this experience around. Our Service Manager will be reaching out to discuss with you in detail the repair. Thank you
Service Technicians: David Sweeney
Technician was courteous. The sevices proposed were way overpriced! Service provided after negotiations still overpriced but I needed it done asap.
- Rhonda Harvey
The technician was friendly, knowledgeable and quick. However, we were severely over charged for parts! I would recommend getting several estimates first.
- Katy Mcguffey
Tech was good, on time, knowledgeable, and went straight to work. As explained to me on the phone, there is a service call fee waived if work is completed. The only reason I approved the work is because if this fee. We will NEVER (EVER) use your service again. We’re very disappointed with the cost given the very small amount of material/parts replaced and the very little amount of labor that was required. You could have charged half of what we paid and still been very profitable. You will never hear from us again and we will never recommend your service to anyone
- Brooks Lamm
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we want you to feel comfortable sharing good or bad news. We are sorry that your experience with us fell short of expectations and that you are not happy about the price that was quoted and agreed upon. Our technicians perform a 25 point inspection and present their findings to the homeowner with the recommendations and quote to repair the door. We try to give the homeowner ample time to review the inspection and ask questions about the quote. Jeremy is an experienced technician that has been working on garage doors for several years so he is able to perform the work that you needed at a faster pace than someone new to the industry. We reviewed the call with him to verify what exactly was repaired/replaced on your door and it included tracks, a jam bracket and a tune up. Customer satisfaction is our main goal and we strive for all of our customers to receive five star service from our company. If we can assist you with further questions about your experience, please call and ask to speak with the service manager.
Service Technicians: Jeremy Bojkovsky
My garage door panel was working just fine until I left the service man alone in my garage to go get my mask. Once I returned my only working panel suddenly stopped working. I don't think this was a coincident. I know how some service technician will break things to get the job. Lucky for me my garage door opener in my car raises and closes my garage door. I have decided to go with another company. I will have them check my wall panel to see if it was tampered with. If they find it has not then I'll come back here and apologize.
- Janet Rankin
Thank you for considering Precision to service your garage door. We are sorry that we were not able to work with you and repair your door. All of our calls are recorded and we did review the call to see what the initial problem was that prompted you to reach out. You stated on the call that your door would not open unless it was opened manually and you were also having some issues with the lights in the opener. We spoke to the technician and he states he pressed your wall button two times and after that, it stopped working. He also stated you were in the garage with him and you never questioned him or stated anything that your review mentions. A 25 point safety inspection was done on the door which revealed your opener was not responsive. You were provided with two quotes to replace your opener to get it working again and both of those motors quoted included new safety sensors, a remote and wall button. Customer satisfaction is our main goal and we strive for all of our customers to receive five star service and that is evident by our many 5 star reviews. Our company and employees are very reputable and we would never try to break something just to get a job and we are sorry you feel that way. We have noted your account and will not be servicing your home again. We hope you were able to get your door needs taken care of.
Garage door technician did a good job. The only thing that bothered me was when the representative Carlos blamed me for the rail being to long. He measured it so how is it my fault. Whether I cut the first original rail down or not his measurements should had been spot on in distance for Installation.
- Harrison Carolina
We appreciate your feedback regarding the door installation. We greatly apologize if Carlos made you feel blamed for the rail issue that occurred during your install. We have used this internally as a teaching moment with the sales team so it does not happen again. Should you wish to take us up on the rail fix options that have been offered to you or you need anything in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us, thank you.
The work performed by the technician was great, however I was charged double the amount of what it should have been! Very disappointed.
- Jessica Mcshane
Thank you for choosing Precision Garage Doors. We are sorry you felt you were overcharged for the work, but we did more than just replace the springs that other companies quoted you. Our technician did a full torsion conversion which includes 3 bearings, a torsion tube, drums, cables and labor. We look forward to serving you again in the future, if you need further assistance please contact our service manager, thank you.
Not happy with cost for this.... guy was here for short time to put cheap plastic part in and cost $189 ??
- Douglas Smith
Thank you for your business and taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry you feel the price you were quoted was too high. We certainly try to be competitive with our pricing and we do review pricing with customers before any work is done so any questions the customer has, can be answered first. The pricing for your job was not just for parts but also things like the technician's time, insurance, gas and maintenance on our vehicles, etc. If you have further questions, please feel free to call the office. We are happy to help in the future if needed, take care and stay healthy.
Service Technicians: Shaun Sewell - Senior Technician
Fast arrival!! But very over priced!!!
- Bristiney Bailey
We appreciate your business and we are pleased to see that James came out and provided you with quick service. As for the cost, we are sorry you feel it was overpriced. After reviewing the invoice for your job, we think the $90.00 bill was fair if not even under priced. James came out to your home, assessed the problem, fixed the problem and lubed your door. All of this was quoted to you for your approval before any work was done so there should have been no surprises. The cost of a job is not just the labor and materials that the customer sees in front of them. It also includes the time for the technician, the truck maintenance, the gas, and insurances that go into keeping a business running. Again, thank you for your business and we are glad we could help service your garage door.
Peachtree City, GA
Tech was on time and did the work well. However, total charge was not as quoted over the phone and on a chart. Labor charge was never mentioned or included in the quote.
- John Radlein
We are very sorry this error happened and we appreciate you bringing it to our attention. After listening to the recorded calls you made to the call center, the representative did in fact quote you a price without labor. Our technician was unaware of the quoted price given by the call center. As we discussed on the phone, we are happy to correct this error and refund the charge. We appreciate your business and hope to work with you again in the future.
Since having the garage opener installed, I've attempted to download the app to utilize it. Well that's been unsuccessful and now there's a blue light flashing. When I called customer service I was told there would be a service fee for a tech to come out?? When I asked for someone to call, no one did. Not sure now if I made a mistake on selecting this company
- Oscar Labiche
Thank you for taking our call this morning. We are very sorry about the miscommunication provided to you when you called in with your Liftmaster app issue. All of our calls are recorded so we can go back and investigate any problems and then use the miscommunication as a teaching guide so no other issues happen like this again. We appreciate your business and please let us know if you have any issues after speaking with Liftmaster customer service as recommended per our phone conversation.
Very disappointed that we have a problem so soon after install, this maybe unusual, will give it some time but I cannot fully endorse at this time.
- Stephanie Cafferty
We are sorry there was an issue four months after the install of the liftmaster sensor. We are glad you called to let us know and we were happy to send a technician out to get them replaced under warranty. We appreciate your business and please call if we can help in the future.
Service Technicians: Jeremiah Hintz
Let me start by saying that I had been happy with the service and products that we have received from Precision in the past. I have bought a new garage door and opener for our main garage a couple of years ago. The installation and service were first rate. I did feel that the cost of the door opener was a little high but not too unreasonable. Recently our detached garage had an issue with its door where the safety senors were vibrating when the door was closing and would not allow the door to close. The door would go down 3/4 of the way and then the senors would loose signal and cause the door to go back up. I called Precision and they were able to come out that day. The technician came out and diagnosed the problem quickly. He said that the door needed to be realigned and that the metal rollers that originally came with the door needed to be replaced with nylon rollers. This would fix the vibration that was causing the sensors to trip the door. He quoted me $476 to complete the work. I was shocked at the cost to say the least. The cost break down was as follows: $216 to replace the rollers, $129 for "Tune up" and $100 for "General Maintenance" plus tax. At that point I had to have the door repaired so I tried to negotiate a lower price to no avail. I had the technician do the work which took him a total of 20 minutes. It did fix the door but I came away from the experience feeling very unhappy with the value of service that I received. I believe that the roller replacement fixed the issue and should not have been charged the other two fees. I will not use Precision Garage Door in the future.
- Christopher Web
Service Technicians: Dustin Bourchier
Very, very questionable pricing with a strong "What can I get out of this house" component. Technician arrived later than promised (end of day), did the quote on notebook paper with no back-up reference material like a typed pricelist, and managed the invoice so labor was not shown separately. The net of it is I paid $700 for 2 springs and 3 brackets. I also paid sales tax on the full bill as opposed to only the parts if the labor was listed separately. The parts are good, the technician professional and clearly competent. But I am left with a feeling I was hosed a good bit because I live in a nice home. I sent a note back to them summarizing my concerns, but have not received any response.
- Mike Payne
Service Technicians: David Sweeney
worst company I had ever deal with they gave me a quote for my garage door spring .when the tech showed up for service he double the price.I'm so I had to so much for something I Could of fix. The serviceman spent 30 minutes and I HAD TO PAY $479.36 FOR THAT.I felt like I got rob
- Renelle Thermidor
Mrs and Mr Thermidor called our company to repair a spring which was broken in their garage. Our call center quoted them a specific price which was also the price quoted by our technician. Because of the age of the door and lack of preventative maintenance, there were also bearings that needed to be replaced and a tune up was suggested. All options were presented to Mrs and Mr Thermidor including the lesser charge to replace just the spring and bearings and tune up. Mrs Thermidor chose the lesser charge and authorized the work against her husband's wishes. We performed the work as she requested and Mr Thermidor filed a complaint 2 days later that the cost was more than he wanted to pay. In an effort to maintain our impeccable reputation and to please our customer, we offered a substantial refund which Mr Thermidor accepted. We always present our customer's with options depending on their needs and budget and would never complete any work without prior authorization. This was obviously a disagreement between a husband and wife that we were put in the middle of after the fact.
Service Technicians: David Sweeney
Price way to high I suggest you find another company.
- Anita Bratton
The tech was very knowledgeable. He gave me several options for repairs. The problem is that after the work was done and he was leaving he ran over my flower bed that my landscaper had just completed earlier in the week! Ive called requesting a manager to call me but no one has responded. Dissappointed
- Steve Williams
I am sorry for your disappointment. Our technician left your house and immediately went and purchased the flowers, soil, and mulch, returned to your home and planted the new plants himself and re-mulched the bed to where you could not tell that he accidentally ran over the bed. Our general manager called twice to discuss the incident with you and left voice mails with no returned call. Please call me directly to discuss your disappointment. Our technician indicated you were very pleased with the outcome of him repairing the flower bed. Tim Yeager-Owner 404-260-0047
arrived late and would not attempt to repair door.
- Steve Davis
We worked with this customer to get the situation resolved. Unfortunately, the door was in such a state that it was beyond repair. The customer now has a new garage door and is very happy with it.
I was referred to Precision by a neighbor. We had a garage door spring break and needed to have it fixed. My husband is an electrician, and usually does household maintenance himself. Unfortunately, he had to be out of town and could not do the repair, so we called Precision. The technician came out and completed the repair. After he left we noticed that the door made a lot more noise than usual when being opened and closed, almost like it was binding. A couple days later, the cable came off of the spring pulley and caused the door not to open properly again. So, I called Precision again and had to have another technician come out for another repair. This technician said that the repair was done improperly, because the cable was installed on the outside of the spring, causing it to bind. We have 2 garage doors with a total of 4 springs, and 1 was installed wrong. Why didn't the first technician look at the other 3 springs and complete the repairs properly the first time? Needless to say, we were not happy about having to have Precision come out to our house a second time.
- Niki Mcconnell
Unfortunately from time to time, as good as our techs are, they miss something. I can only apologize and know that you were immediately taken care of when you called with your concerns by sending my general manager out to personally inspect the doors and make the necessary adjustments Again, accept my apology and hopefully we demonstrated when something goes array, we jump through hoops to make it right Thank you for your business
5ervice was scheduled between 8-12:00 noon today. No call from you and I called office at 11:45am. They said the technician would call. He did and said the office had me scheduled from 10-2:00pm. I wasted the entire morning waiting for your service. Sean was the technician and once he got here he did an excellent job.
- Randy Hoffman
I am sorry for the confusion on your appointment. As a rule, we give a 4 hour time window which we seldom are late. The technician always calls in advance with an ETA. We obviously missed the time window with you. My technician told me he gave you several parts at no charge for the inconvenience. I do appreciate the kind words about the quality of service we provided when we arrived. We understand our customers time is valuable, and do our best to be on time and be respectful of our promise. I hope in the future you will give us the opportunity to make it right beyond free product for your inconvenience. Thank You Tim Yeager Owner
Service Technicians: Sean Sheiern - Director of Services
Ball Ground, GA
Was told tech would be out for free price quote tech called then when I told him I wanted a specific opener they would have to order it no big deal only after I did my own research cause they never came out I found out I have to have a center Garge door opener cause I do not have the correct style spring system for that opener that mounts to a wall the way I found out was by calling another company what if I ordered and set up a date for install would you then charge me extra to change the spring system after you didnt come out and look at it first of course you would if you live in Cherokee county ga just go with a mom and pop owned company instead of a company that just wings it and forgets about what customer satisfaction is
- Damien Lusby
I believe the tech called you to tell you he was on his way. You explained that you wanted a specific jackshaft motor and he explained you had the wrong spring system on your door to accomodate that type of operator. He said he would call you back with a price for the specific opener and retrofit of the springs which he did. He received your voicemail and did not receive a call back from you. He was shocked to hear your comments on the review. There was obviously a miscommunication somewhere along the line. For that I apologize, but take exception that a "mom and pop" company gives better service than we do. I am sorry for the bad experience, and we have used this as a training tool to improve our service in the future. Tim Yeager Owner
Mark replaced our garage door openers a month or two ago. He also installed a wireless keypad outside the door. As I attempted to use the wireless keypad in the dark, I realized it did not light the keys. I called your office and was told that it should light up so they scheduled a technician to repair/replace it. On the scheduled morning of the visit, Nick called and told me that the Precision 800 keypad would not light up the keys. He said the only wireless keypad that would work is a Clicker from Home Depot. I am disappointed that the keypad does not light when I try to use it in the dark. I paid $800 for these openers and I am disappointed with this missing feature.
- Joe Rogers
Thank you for your comments. We have used this incident as a training tool for our technicians. When we became aware of the situation, we immediately sent Mark, our senior technician, out to solve the problem. We are glad we could solve the problem and use this as a learning opportunity.
Although my problem was fixed there were several reasons I would not use your business again. First, the technician called over an hour ahead and told me he was already in my driveway. So, I felt like I needed to leave work right away to get there, even though this was a HUGE inconvenience. I understand that sometimes technicians are running ahead of schedule but to tell me he was already in my driveway made me feel uncomfortable and that I needed to rush home. The technician fixed my garage door opener by making an adjustment that took less than 30 seconds and I know this because we were on the phone when he fixed it. In fact he made the adjustment without telling me. I thought I was going to get some sort of estimate on what the problem was first before the work was fixed. Then he went ahead and performed some other services that I am sure it needed, but, again, did not ask me first. This is Christmas time and every little dollar counts and I would have liked a breakdown of the charges and have been asked if I wanted him to perform the services. It just would have been nice if he asked me instead of just going ahead and doing it. And if this was one of those unusual situations where you have to troubleshoot first and end up fixing the problem so quickly in that process, then should it really cost almost 100$? Good business is supposed to be about customer service, honesty and warmth and I felt like that was missing. Of course I am glad that you fixed the problem but I am not happy with the whole experience and wouldn
- Ann Dennis
Thank you for the review. Our technicians are ALWAYS suppose to get prior approval before doing any additional work. When I discussed this with the technician, he was under the impression you had told him to proceed with the recommendation. It is our desire to make EVERY experience with us a pleasant one. As we discussed on the phone, I mailed you back a check for over half of this repair ($49.95) and your reply via email to me was you were very satisfied and appreciated the excellent customer service I will use this experience as a learning tool for our technicians Thank you for your business! Tim Yeager Owner
I just sent an email with our concerns regarding garage door spring replacement. Very happy with our service man, Justin. He was very knowledgeable in regards to his job. We are not happy with the lack of detail in our charges on our invoice, nor with the price we were charged. We feel we were taken advantage of regarding price of job.
- Craig Shewmaker
I am glad we were able to straighten out the confusion about all the work that was performed on your door. I appreciate the email back to me acknowledging the misunderstanding and your acknowledgement of satisfaction. As you know, I immediately called you and responded to your review as soon as I received it Again, thank you for your business
Peachtree City, GA
Repair was from original new install that broke. First appointment left a note on garage door that no one was home and people were at home. Second appointment was cancelled at last minute and rescheduled for 0700 next day. Repairman arrived approx 1030.
- gary marullo
Mr. Marullo, We are very sorry for the experience you've had, and certainly didn't intend for it to be that way. Our technician did show up as scheduled, ON TIME for fist appointment. He attempted to notify occupants of home he was there, but after multiple attempts with no response, a letter was left stating he had been there. Before leaving, he did try to reach you by phone to see what you would like to do, and waited for at least 30 minutes before placing sticker on the door, as he never received a return call. We obviously do not run our business this way, and hate for our customers to have that opinion, but we try everything within our power to make the customer's experience as pleasant and smooth as possible. Hopefully we have the chance to make your next experience a better one with our company. Sincerely, Tim Yeager
When Mark arrived he confirmed what I believed the problem was....a broken spring. When I asked him the cost he said $595. Is this the standard price for this service with Precision Door Service? If so, you are $145 higher than the competition. I had already received a quote for $450 (which I believe is too high) and he immediately met their price. This tells me that Precision takes advantage of situations. It's not the way I prefer to do business.
- Sandy Butler
Thank you for posting this review. It is certainly not how I like to do business either. Just as some garage doors cost 5x more than others, so do the functioning parts of a garage door, which greatly contributes to the price difference. We do not deal in replacement parts that are inferior for the sake of making a sale. Precision Door uses parts of much higher quality than competitors. Our springs are high cycle which last 4 times longer than competitors, our cables are 19 strand instead of 7, the bearings are of heavier gauge steel and our drums are commercial quality that have 50% more capacity than most competition. You brought an important point to light for us. Our technician should have taken the time to show you and explain the difference rather than simply meeting a lower price for lesser quality parts. We will concentrate our training efforts to make sure the technicians do a better job of explaining the Precision Difference I am sorry for putting doubt in your mind but you certainly helped us improve an area of our company. I am appreciative and use all feedback from customers as a learning experience, good or bad Tim Yeager Owmer
Office: (678) 813-3131
6550 McDonough Dr
Norcross, GA 30093
Office: (770) 766-8900
6835 Shiloh Rd E
Alpharetta, GA 30005
Office: (678) 250-4044
189 Cobb Parkway N
Marietta, GA 30062
Office: (678) 607-8894
137 Bethea Road
Fayetteville, GA 30214
Office: (678) 802-8110
5152 Belle Wood Ct
Buford, GA 30518
Office: (706) 509-2967
4390 Atlanta Hwy
Bogart, GA 30622
Office: (770) 246-2786
135 McDonough Pkwy
McDonough, GA 30253